Corporate Governance Award 2001

Eligibility Criteria
Companies whose shares were listed in Group A of BSE and/or in S & P CNX Nifty as on 31.3.2001.
Selection Criteria
The annual reports of eligible companies were evaluated with reference to the following three Criteria:
  • Compliance with mandatory requirements 20%
  • Actual Implementation of the spirit of governance 50%
  • Other distinct governance practices 30%
A Questionnaire was framed, to elicit information from participating companies about compliance with the norms of corporate governance in letter and spirit. Evaluation of eligible companies was done with the help of Questionnaire and annual reports received from the eligible companies.

The selection of awardee companies and eminent personality for translating corporate governance into reality is done by the Jury consisting of personalities enjoying unparallel eminence and reputation in their respective fields, which makes the award more prestigious, and a symbol of excellence.

For the First Award Function the Jury comprises of:

1 Honble Justice Shri M N Venkatachaliah, Chairman,
National Commission to review the working of the Constitution
and former Chief Justice of India and Chairperson,
National Human Rights Commission.
2 Dr. M.B.Athreya, Management Consultant Member
3 Shri Vinod Dhall, IAS,
Secretary, Deptt. Of Company Affairs
4 Shri S S Kohli, Chairman and Managing Director,
Punjab National Bank
5 Shri Raghu Mody, President, ASSOCHAM and Chairman,
Rasoi Ltd. JL Morrison (India) Ltd. and
Hindustan Composites Ltd.
6 Shri Brij Mohan Lall Munjal, Chairman and Managing Director,
Hero Honda Motors Ltd. and Chairman
Hero Group of Companies.
7 Shri T.V.Mohandas Pai, Director and CFO,
Infosys Technologies Ltd.
8 Dr. P V S Jagan Mohan Rao, President, The ICSI Member
9 Shri Arindam Sengupta, Editor,
The Economic Times, New Delhi.
10 Shri N. Vittal, IAS,
Central Vigilance Commissioner
11 Shri A Ramaswamy (Member-Secretary, IAS,
Joint Secretary, Department of Company Affairs,
Government Of India and
Government Nominee on the Council of ICSI
12 Shri Jaideep Bose, Editor,
The Economic Times, Mumbai

The First ICSI National Awards for Excellence in Corporate Governance for the year 2001 were presented on November 19, 2001 at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi to (i) Infosys Technologies Limited First Best Governed Company; and (ii) BSES Ltd. Second Best Governed Company, at a glittering function by the gracious hand of His Excellency Late Shri Krishan Kant, Honble Vice-President of India, in the benign presence of Honble Justice Shri M N Venkatachaliah, Chairman of the Jury and Former Chief Justice of India, Shri Arun Jaitley, Honble Union Minister of Law, Justice and Company Affairs, Shri Vinod Dhall, IAS Secretary, Department of Company Affairs, Members of the Jury, Senior Government Officials, Captains of the Industry, Senior Corporate Executives and large number of members of the Institute. At the same function, Company Secretaries of Best Governed Companies were also awarded in recognition to their commitment to ensure good Corporate Governance.
Life Time Achievement Award
The Institute has also instituted the ICSI Life Time Achievement Award for translating corporate governance into reality. For the year 2001, the Life Time Achievement Award was bestowed on (i) Dr. V Kurien, Chairman Emeritus, National Development Board; and (ii) Rai Bahadur M S Oberoi, Chairman, The Oberoi Group of companies, for translating excellence in translating corporate governance into reality.