Ist ICSI National CG Award

Eligibility Criteria
The eligibility criteria for participation in the Second ICSI National Awards for Excellence in Corporate Governance was as follows:
  • Companies seeking listing for the first time;
  • Companies included in Group A” of the BSE or in S&P; CNX Nifty Index as on January 1, 2000;
  • Listed companies with paid up share capital of Rs. 10 crore and above or Networth of Rs. 25 crore or more at any time in the history of the company within financial year 2001-2002 but not later than March 31, 2002.
Source Documents
The Questionnaire designed by the Institute and supported by the current Annual Report along with a copy of Notice of Annual General Meeting Any other documents, which were required by the Jury for the selection process.

Selection Criteria
The companies were short-listed on the basis of score earned in areas such as:
  1. Board Independence,
  2. Board Systems and Procedures;
  3. Transparency and Disclosures, Investor Relations and Services; and Compliances;
  4. Shareholders Value Enhancement and Stakeholders claims; and
  5. Social Responsibility.
On the basis of above a Questionnaire was framed, to elicit information from participating companies about compliance with the norms of corporate governance in letter and spirit. On the basis of evaluation of above parameters, 20 companies were short-listed from the private sector and five companies were short-listed from the public sector. A second Questionnaire was sent to short-listed companies. It required focused information, which was tabulated and placed before the Jury to facilitate the decision-making about the Winners.
  1. First Questionnaire for the Award Function
  2. Second Questionnaire for the Award Function
To further add glory to the Award and making it a symbol of prestige, the Jury comprises of personalities enjoying unparalleled eminence and reputation in their respective fields. For the Second Award Function the Jury comprises of:

1 Honble Justice Shri M. N. Venkatachaliah,
Former Chief Justice of India
2 Prof. M.B. Athreya, Management Consultant Member
3 Shri G.N. Bajpai, Chairman SEBI Member
4 Shri Naresh Chandra, Former Cabinet Secretary Member
5 Shri P K Choudhury, Managing Director, ICRA Limited Member
6 Shri V.K. Dhall, IAS, Secretary DCA Member
7 Shri S. Gangopadhyay, President, The ICSI Member
8 Shri Abid Hussain, Professor Emeritus, IIFT Member
9 Prof. T N Kapoor, Former Vice-Chancellor Member
10 Shri S S Kohli, Chairman & Managing Director,
Punjab National Bank
11 Shri Brij Mohan Lall Munjal Member
12 Shri T S Krishna Murthy, Election Commissioner of India Member
13 Shri Ravi Narain, Managing Director & CEO, NSE Ltd. Member
14 Shri Nandan M. Nilekani, Chief Executive Officer,
President & Managing Director,
Infosys Technologies Limited.
15 Dr. P.L.Sanjeev Reddy, Director, IIPA Member
16 Shri R V Shahi, Secretary to Govt. of India,
Ministry of Power
The Second ICSI National Awards for Excellence in Corporate Governance for the year 2002 were presented on December 31st December, 2002 at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi to two best governed companies in private sector namely (i) Dr. Reddys Laboratories Ltd., (ii) Tata Iron and Steel Co. Ltd. The Award for best governed company in public sector was bagged by IBP Company Ltd. at a glittering function by the gracious hand of His Excellency Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat, Honble Vice-President of India, in the benign presence of Honble Justice Shri M N Venkatachaliah, Chairman of the Jury and Former Chief Justice of India, Shri Vinod Dhall, IAS Secretary, Department of Company Affairs, Members of the Jury, Senior Government Officials, Captains of the Industry, Senior Corporate Executives and large number of members of the Institute. At the same function, Company Secretaries of Best Governed Companies were also awarded in recognition to their commitment to ensure good Corporate Governance.

Life Time Achievement Award
A Life Time Achievement Award was conferred upon Dr. Y K Hamied, Chairman and Managing Director, Cipla Limited, for translating corporate governance into reality.